Well Hello There!

Leave a comment
Random Banter

I’m not sure how to go about starting this blogging business so I guess I’ll jump straight into it. Here’s a little something I scribbled down in a beautiful new leather-bound notebook before I fell asleep last night (Yes, I’m still old-school in that I prefer handwriting to typing – sorry fellow bloggers). Here goes…

I go on and on about loving to write, but the reality is that I only actually write when I travel. After writing (or perhaps even before writing), travel is my greatest love. Over the past few years, I’ve spent nearly all of my hard-earned dollars (note the sarcasm) seeing different parts of our wild and wonderful world. I’ve written thousands upon thousands of silly words across numerous journals; hard-covered, soft-covered, lined or unlined – I have no preference.

Most of my travel journals are half-filled, but one. I have an orange linen bound journal that was given to me by a very dear friend years ago, which, over two European adventures, has been completely filled. This little orange object is perhaps my proudest possession (a claim this very blog may one day hold). Another of my journals is completely empty but for the first ten pages or so, as it was sadly left behind in a dark hostel room in Mexico City, waiting to be retrieved almost two months later. In it’s place I purchased a three dollar old-school American exercise book, which sits proudly alongside its more distinguished leather-bound friends. There is a red one, a pastel-pink one, and a beautiful gold-leafed floral covered one which, although purchased some five years ago, is yet to be used.

Anyway, I guess what I’m getting at is the idea that my writing shouldn’t be restricted to these crinkled, well loved journals, and it certainly shouldn’t be restricted to travel. My ideal world would involve constant travel, but this just isn’t a reality (yet!). So here’s to the beginning of my first non-travel journal. (And how scary that it be online for all to read!) I can’t exactly call this a journal, and I’m not quite ready to call myself a blogger…Let’s just say this is somewhat of an online junkyard for me to jot my sometimes rubbish attempts at writing. So please, enjoy! (And please leave comments – I thrive off criticism but appreciate compliments too!)

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

Tell me what's up!

