The (Literally) Never Ending List of Books to Read Before You Die

comment 1
Random Banter

So, I love reading. Like, I really, really love reading. I constantly have a book on the go (just one – none of this reading numerous books at one time business), and am constantly adding books to a never-ending list which exists in my head. Occasionally I jot recommended titles down in notes on my phone, or on bits of paper which gather at the dirty bottom of my handbag. This is becoming somewhat problematic, however, as the list is growing so long I’m beginning to doubt whether I can successfully get through it before my time is up. Here’s the thing – each time I tick a book off the list, the newly discovered author not only comes out with a new novel, but has written some ten plus previous novels which must also be read. On top of that, celebrities are coming out with auto-biographies left, right and centre (feel free to judge me). There are books written in English (the only language I can read with any sensical idea of what is happening), as well as trillions of books which have been translated into English from any number of our world’s wonderful languages. New books are published worldwide almost daily, and each week I read some ten plus book reviews in various newspapers and magazines which tempt my reader’s palette. And on top of that, each semester I have a new list of books that I am required to read for university (I’m studying English)…phew! Plus, I want to re-read books which I remember having loved upon first read. My heart rate is elevating just thinking about it! I guess my only option is to prioritise the books I read. I need to come to terms with the fact that I won’t be able to read every single book on my never-ending list, therefore I need to organise the titles in some sort of priority reading list. So, here’s my current top five must reads (just so you know, I found the culling process astronomically stressful):

  1. Room – Emma Donoghue (This one keeps coming up in random conversations with random people.)
  2. The Road – Cormac McCarthy (I know, I should have read this one yonks ago.)
  3. In The Country of Last Things – Paul Auster (add his books to your own list ASAP!)
  4. ‘Tis – Frank McCourt (I’ve put this one off for years – no idea why.)
  5. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel García Márquez (I’ve half read this book almost four times – again, no idea why. Now I must read it in honour of one of our world’s greatest authors ever to live.)

That’s pretty much all I have to say about this topic. And despite my negative attitude towards my booklist being impossible to fully tackle, author and title recommendations would be much appreciated! Comment away, my dearest reader!

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

1 Comment

Tell me what's up!

