Why Coffee and My Wallet Hate Each Other

comment 1
Random Banter

Oh, if I had a dollar for every coffee I’ve ever bought! Actually, if I had four dollars for every coffee…allow me to elaborate:

I’m somewhere on the brink of living to drink coffee, and needing coffee to live. If, for some horrific reason, I don’t have time to consume my wake-up requirement of caffeine, a horrific migraine will most certainly develop by mid-morning. And you don’t want to get in my way when that happens! What’s more, I’m a serious coffee snob and only trust the baristas of three cafes in the whole world (Providore, Exchange and Bar 9, in case you were wondering). But that’s not the point of my post.

What I’m more concerned about than my unhealthy dependency on lattes, is the amount of money I spend on said lattes (sweet, sweet lattes). Here’s the thing; each day I purchase one coffee (sometimes two) at the ridiculous cost of four dollars – or an extra fifty cents for soy.

Now maths isn’t exactly my thing, but that equates to approximately $1642.50 per year. If your reaction was somewhere along the lines of ‘Holy shit!’, we’re on the same page. Think of all the splendid things I could do with that money. I could travel! I could buy luxurious goods! I could invest in shares! I could save to buy a house!

…Or I could continue to enjoy a delicious, creamy latte every day, and just be merry.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

1 Comment

Tell me what's up!

