Maybe Star Signs Ain’t So Bogus

comment 1
Random Banter

I’ve always been a stubborn believer that star signs and horoscopes are complete and utter bull shit. That was, however, until the weekend just past when the twinkling stars aligned and my entire world flipped. At mid-morning on Sunday I was eating my burnt, vegemite-spread toast whilst reading the Sunday Mail (the crappiest of all crap papers), when I stumbled upon the weekly horoscope page.

On the very few occasions in which I’ve dared myself to read my horoscope in the past, I have ended up seriously disappointed. As a Virgo I am (apparently) a perfectionist, unhealthily obsessive, stressfully pedantic and boringly unwilling to take risks. Now, in my un-biased Virgo opinion, none of these are particularly admirable qualities (although they may be true to a minor extent). My star sign reading is usually along the lines of “do not do anything fun or out of the ordinary as terrible things will occur”. Boo. So with this in mind, you can imagine my excitement when I read these glorious words:

“The new moon eclipse this week is in your 9th house, which is the part of your chart that’s all about travel. So if you’d like to travel in the coming six months, you have excellent stars for it. Ditto if you’d like to take up a course of study. Or if you want to get into publishing. All of these things can come to you now if you want them to. Just make a concerted effort to take your life in that direction.”

Get this – not only am I planning to travel to India later in the year to meet my friend who will be studying yoga in Goa, but I am also planning to take up a post-graduate course… in PUBLISHING. As you can imagine, my entire identity has been reshaped. I now identify as a loud and proud Virgo and a star sign devotee. Now let’s pray to the moons and stars, because my entire future lies in the words which will be printed under the ‘Virgo’ heading in next Sunday’s horoscopes. To find out more, call 1900-VIRGOS-R-US.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Like The Palm Of My Hand | Taggle Talk

Tell me what's up!

