I Got My Nails Did

comments 2
Random Banter

Recently my sister was gifted a voucher to a nearby nail salon. It’s fair to say that the person who so kindly gave my sister this present does not know her at all, as she is certainly not (nor I for that matter) the type of girl to be manicured. If you imagine the last girls on the planet to have someone paint their nails, you will no doubt have pictured us. Don’t get me wrong – I recall several days when I wore pink dresses and sparkly ballet flats, I just happened to be under the age of four and forced against my will.

My sister and I, in our uniform of boyfriend jeans and converse sneakers, laughed about her receiving of this voucher, before deciding that it should absolutely not be wasted. The voucher was for the value of both a manicure and a pedicure, but we kindly asked if we might each receive a manicure instead, to which our darling beautician, Ruby, replied ‘Yes!’. It’s a very rare occasion that my sister and I have the same day completely free, so what better way to spend it than being pampered alongside one another!

We were each asked to select a polish colour, and you can be assured we considered the infinite options as life or death. I would have preferred something subtle like nude or peach, but I quickly thought that boring. Instead, I selected a deep, glitter-filled purple (you’re meant to do something everyday that scares you, right?). My nails were filed, buffed, shaped, cut, painted and who-knows what else, using metal tools I would expect to have found in my father’s shed. My sister’s nails underwent a similar building process, but hers came out the hottest of hot pinks.

Overall, I found the manicure process to be pleasant. I left the salon  relaxed, feeling more like a princess than ever before. Tasks such as writing and holding a knife and fork have become instantly more exciting, as has typing this very post. I can’t say I’ll be getting another manicure in the near future, but I am most certainly proud to say I have done it.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

2 Comments

Tell me what's up!

