How To Describe The Colour Blue To A Blind Man

comments 2
Random Banter

I took this photograph two weeks ago at Byron Bay in New South Wales, Australia. It is one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen; I don’t remember breathing for those few minutes I stood on the rocks. I’ve tried so desperately to recreate this image with words, but for once, language has failed me. Tranquil, piercing, clarity, whoosh, blue, green, ripple; these words are unworthy of such subject. Not even the photograph does justice, and I’m told a photograph is equal to one thousand perfect words.

I could attempt to describe the magical colour of the ocean, but then I couldn’t even tell you confidently whether it’s blue or green or speckled gold and silver. I could embarrass myself with descriptions of the five senses but honestly, mine were so overwhelmed I couldn’t tell you one single thing they remember. I could stutter some free verse or use a quote from someone more capable, but then again I couldn’t. Just this once, I’m going to accept the fact that you can’t describe the colour blue to a blind man. You can try all you like, but will never know that his version of blue is the same as yours.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

2 Comments

    • It’s such a crazy thought isn’t it? I often wonder whether my blue sky is someone else’s pink, or maybe a colour I’ve never even seen!

      Like

Tell me what's up!

