My Real Time Thoughts During Savasana

comments 6
Random Banter

Savasana is an important part of yoga practice in which the yogi is required to lay on their back with palms facing upward and eyes closed, all the while breathing deeply and mindfully. Muscular tensions in the body should be consciously released, and thoughts and breath should be controlled and mindful; inhale, exhale, repeat. Here’s what happened in my brain for fifteen minutes of savasana during this evening’s yoga class:

It’s freezing in here. I haven’t seen Leah in a while. I should message her. Shit, I hope my phone is on silent. Note to future self. Should I shower tonight or tomorrow morning? Hang on, is today Wednesday or Thursday? Okay, someone definitely farted. Is July 21 too late to start Dry July? What rhymes with August? Holy crap I’m turning 23 in a few weeks and I don’t know what I’m doing with my life. Man, my nose is itchy. August, dust, robust, gust, rust, sawdust. Why the heck is my right calf twitching like that? Weird. Yep, today is definitely Wednesday. What would happen if I screamed out ‘Penis’? Don’t do it. Dinner better be ready when I get home. I wonder what everyone else is thinking in here. Maybe I should do a yoga retreat in Bali. I could do some surfing while I’m there. I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday. I might paint my toenails when I get home. Purple? Pink. I’m really quite thirsty. That girl looks so familiar. I know her from somewhere. Call grandma about dinner. My iPod is definitely lost. So is my orange purse now that I think about it. E-mail Sergio about Spanish classes and tell Molly I’m unable to work August 18-22. I should cut coffee out of my life. All the single ladies, all the single ladies. Oh, shut up.

Namaste.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: My Real Time Thoughts While Driving | Taggle Talk

  2. Though I don’t do yoga (yet), I thought I was the only one whose thoughts ran a million miles an hour when they were supposed to be concentrating.

    Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's up!

