That’s So Gay

comments 2
Random Banter

I work in an extremely busy shop in an extremely busy shopping precinct and quite often have to deal with extremely rude customers. I try not to carry these annoyances of the working day into my ‘real’ life, but sometimes a girl needs to vent. I hope you’re ready for this people because I’m more than a little peeved.

Yesterday I was assisting two young girls who can’t have been more than sixteen years of age. They were trying on 90s-style choker necklaces which have been surprisingly popular as of late (the reason for which is beyond me as they are nothing but hideous). The girls’ conversation went something like this: “No offence, but you actually look so gay wearing that.” “Yeah, I really do, don’t I.” “We actually look like faggots.” “Yeah, these are so gay.” “So gay.” “Let’s go get lunch.” I was furious. My very gay and very fabulous co-worker happened to be on his lunch break at the time and thank goodness for that as I fear he might have slapped them. Or worse, he might have cried. (Having said that, slaps would not have been far from appropriate.) I’ve been kicking myself since that I didn’t say something and I’m sorry to my beautiful friend Craig that I didn’t. If I were to re-visit that infuriating moment I’d say something along the lines of this:

“Sorry girls, but you’re wrong. You don’t look gay in the slightest. The gay people I know are nothing but fabulous so there’s clearly nothing gay about you.”

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

2 Comments

Tell me what's up!

