Life’s Little Pleasures

comment 1
Random Banter

Today is Friday and thank goodness for that as this week has been jam-packed. I’ve spent the past five days doing work experience at a public relations company which I have thoroughly enjoyed. Really, it’s been great – for the first time ever I feel like I might know what I’m doing with myself. More on that later. What I haven’t enjoyed is sitting at a desk for days on end, tortured by the clear aqua sky visible from the window to my right.

In these final weeks of winter, spring has started to show its beautiful colours. The sun hangs around for longer periods, and the grey clouds have left us almost completely. There are flowers in the park (flowers? In spring? Ground breaking!) and people wear fewer layers and smile with rosy cheeks. Like me, their moods are directly correlated to the weather. My sub-conscience mind must have known that today would be special as this morning I dressed myself in pretty pale pinks which, for my tomboy self, is unusual.

At midday on the dot, I got up from my chair, stepped out of the air-conditioned office and walked down the street to buy myself a sandwich and coffee. I ordered my lunch to go, and took it to the city’s green belt. I lay out my jacket, took off my shoes and rolled up my sleeves. I created an acoustic playlist and called it ‘Sunshine’ (hold your gag reflex), then put in my headphones and blocked out the world. For one solid hour in my hectic week, time stood still. I closed my eyes and felt my forehead and cheeks start to burn. I set a timer in anticipation that I might fall asleep and didn’t stir until it sounded. I arose from my day-dreaming slumber, put on my shoes and wandered back to the office in a happy, sun-kissed daze.

I’m going to make it a personal tradition, from this point onwards, to spend one single hour of each and every week completely still and completely alone. Weather permitting, I will lay in the sun, listen to music and stop myself from thinking. I’m the first to admit that a little less stress will do me some good, and I can only assume that you’re the same. I look forward to many more perfect moments just like this one.

*If you enjoyed reading this, you might also enjoy The Perks of Rising Early.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

1 Comment

  1. The onset of Spring creates a cheerfulness inside..Especially warm sunshine in late winter feels life saver…:) I like that time before it starts getting hot and humid…Sadly,that is a brief period,no thanks to my location and climate shift..

    Like

Tell me what's up!

