The Perks Of Rising Early

comments 4
Personal / Random Banter

On the odd occasion I am woken by my morning alarm. On the very odd occasion I sleep right through it. Some mornings, however, I wake long before it goes off. Once I’m awake, there’s no hope of falling back to sleep. For that I’m thankful because these earliest hours of the morning are my favourite time of day. I spend these precious hours one of two ways; I’ll either lay in bed and run my mind through the day, or I’m up and at ’em. When the latter occurs, the day is bound to be splendid. I roll out of bed, plant both feet on my carpeted floor in unison (never one before the other) and feel my way through the dark for my lamp switch. My sneakers go on, my hair is knotted in a heap on my head and I’m out the back door before my mind catches up to my body and sends it back to bed. The outside air is crisp and my street is quiet. The streetlights are on and the birds are asleep in their nests. I run. When I return an hour later, I take in the papers, make myself a coffee and wish my family good morning.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Life’s Little Pleasures | Taggle Talk

  2. Every weekend, I tell myself that I am going to do just what you described (not running, but getting up and getting at the day). Today is a slow start, but I will get out there. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  3. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says

    For school we have to wake up pretty early and all, and now I think I’ve a new approach to doing so 🙂
    Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's up!

