Kim Who, GQ?

comments 7
Random Banter

Just when I thought this world couldn’t be more shocking, last week GQ Magazine named Kim Kardashian ‘Woman of the Year’ at its recent Men of the Year Ceremony in London. I am ashamed, and I believe that the editors at GQ may have lost their minds. My one and only thought regarding the matter is “what the fuck”. Pardon my French dear reader, but I refuse to censor my use of the eff-bomb in relation to such an infuriating matter as this. I may or may not come across to some readers as a raging feminist and/or bitch in this post, and I won’t apologise for that either.

So what exactly has Miss Kimmy K done to earn this highly coveted award? According to GQ, it has been quite a year for this (cough) inspiring woman. To begin with, she has managed to give birth and marry all in the same year – a feat never before achieved by womankind. (FYI: my great-grandmother gave birth to twelve children in less than fifteen years and remained married to her dick-head husband for at least sixty-five.) Go home GQ, you’re drunk. On top of all that, Kim has made an impressive transition from being ‘just’ a reality TV star to a “bona fide media sensation” (GQ’s words, not mine). Unsurprisingly, GQ fails to mention her sex tape, the sole reason Kim became famous in the first place. So now she’s famous for being famous. If that’s what it takes to be ‘Woman of the Year’, I believe that our world may be fucked.

I am fearful that girls far and wide are now telling their mummies that they want to be “just like Kim” or worse, that these girls’ mummies (and daddies) are encouraging them. We need to stop this, now. Screw Kim Kardashian, and screw GQ. I can name somewhere near one thousand women who are more suitable candidates for ‘Woman of the Year’ than Kim Kardashian. For example, there’s this girl at my gym that takes photographs of her near naked self in the mirror while flexing and pouting, simultaneously. In all seriousness, there are many incredible and inspiring women out there. My mother, for example – she’s a superstar. Not to mention two beautiful women in my life who have survived breast cancer.

Who gets YOUR vote for ‘Woman of the Year’? If you answer Kim Kardashian, would you be so kind as to leave, and never return. Many thanks.

PS. I have included a photograph of cows (taken in Switzerland), as it is closest thing I have to an image of Kim Kardashian in my personal collection.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

7 Comments

  1. Kim is basically a new Paris Hilton… Famous for being famous… I don’t get it either why one absolutely needs to keep up with the Kardashians… You are right on the whole young girls looking up to Kim. They did win Teen Choice Best Reality Show… Lord, what’s next?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Famous for being famous…yuck! What does that even mean? Can you/I be famous for being un-famous? I don’t even want to think what’s next. Maybe Paris Hilton will make a comeback? Yikes.

      Like

  2. You sum up the state of the world quite well. I have been lucky enough to have never watched her “reality” show, but have seen enough advertisements and clips of it to know that staying clear of it is a good thing.
    I agree, she is not woman of the year material. Unfortunately, magazines pick people for all the wrong reasons (Hitler was Time or Newsweek’s man of the year). I will think take some time to consider who should be woman of the year before I answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very lucky indeed, not to have watched her show! (And thank-you for acknowledging the fact that it is far from “reality”!) Wow, I didn’t know that about Hitler having been Man of the Year once upon a time. I would really like to read that article…I seriously hope it was released pre-WWII. Here’s a tip for deciding your vote for Woman of the Year – consider the many wonderful women in your own life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's up!

