How My Blog Came To Be Called ‘Taggle Talk’

comments 8
Personal

You’re probably wondering why I named my blog Taggle Talk. Or perhaps that’s wishful thinking and you haven’t spent a single moment wondering about anything to do with my blog. If this second scenario is true, then I suppose I’ve failed somewhat in my blogging process. You see, my primary intention in blogging is to connect with all sorts of people on the topic of all sorts of things. I want to encourage us all to think and to ask questions. I want to make you laugh, I want to make you wonder, and by all means I want to cure your boredom. If I’ve done none of these things, please leave an abusive comment. I respond best to criticism, not necessarily of the constructive kind. Anyway, I’ve gone off on a tangent which seems to be a fairly regular occurrence in any situation in which my brain is involved (more on that later). Back to naming Taggle Talk.

Urban Dictionary provides a number of definitions for the word “taggle”:

  • The act of running and tackling someone in a massive, joyous hug; a combination of the words “tackle” and “huggle”. (For the record Urban Dictionary, “huggle” is not a word.)
  • A nickname given to a spontaneous guy that everyone loves. Every single guy wants to be him and every single girl wants to be with him. He has the most amazing eyes and is 6 feet tall. He’s the sweetest and most romantic person ever and is fun to be around. He is very confident in himself and doesn’t let anything get in his way.
  • Derived from the French expression “ta gueule” which means “shut up”.
  • An attractive woman usually with breasts of a considerable size.

Though none of these meanings were considered in my blog naming process, they are all somewhat relevant. But I suppose you’re more interested in how I personally came to name my blog Taggle Talk.

My first and middle names are Emily and Joy, respectively. Easy enough. I have a long, Greek surname that starts with ‘T’. It is in fact spelt exactly as it’s pronounced, and vice versa, but everyone seems to struggle with it nevertheless. Quite a few years ago now, I used to row. In my first season of rowing, I was in a boat with another Emily T. This became ridiculously confusing for both myself, the other Emily, and our coxswain. My coach, amidst a terrible fit of anger in response to my terrible timing, shortened my nickname to ‘Tag’. (She, by the way, was a massive bitch but that’s somewhat irrelevant.) I’m not exactly sure how she came up with ‘Tag’. Yes, there is a ‘T’, an ‘A’ (two, in fact) and a ‘G’ in my surname, but never do the three letters appear together. From that point onwards my official name Emily was abandoned. I became Tag to my coach, to my crew, and to just about everybody except my immediate family, the random stranger who calls me Sarah, and my Yia Yia who calls me Hermione. I originally opened my Facebook account under the name Emily Tag which stuck for two entire years. People who requested my friendship thought my surname was actually Tag. A fairly concerning number of people I knew extremely well didn’t realise my surname was different until I eventually changed it to my proper name.

Thus, Emily T – – – – – – – – became Emily Tag, which became Em Tag, which became Tag, which became Taggle. (Which then became Taggle Puss, which became Puss, which became Pussy but I refuse to respond to anyone who calls me that. Rude.)

So that’s one half of the Taggle Talk equation.

Now, I like to think of myself as being slightly above average on the world scale of intelligence (pardon my arrogance), but occasionally I’m known to voice an opinion that is so far beneath intelligent it’s a wonder how my brain came up with it. I can’t think of any particular examples at this moment, but I’m sure my friends and family can. Anyway, I recall waking up on a balcony alongside three of my dearest friends to watch the sun rise over the ocean. In my tired, delirious state, I said something particularly cringe-worthy about that special moment. (I honestly can’t remember what I said. And I promise I’m not making that up to avoid admitting whatever embarrassing words they were. I’ve learnt to be proud of these pearls of whatever’s opposite to wisdom.) My friends cracked up laughing, and one sighed and pronounced it “Classic Taggle talk!” Now, whenever I make a stupid comment my friends categorise it “Taggle talk”. So there gave birth to the name of my blog. (My username ’emtag’ also enables me to remain anonymous in a sometimes creepy online world. I’m not calling you a creep, per se, but there are certainly some out there.)

I wasn’t sure about the name at first, but Taggle Talk has stuck and I’m getting used to it. The alliteration is a coincidence, but it works. Although for the first month or two my father referred to my “little project” as “Gaggle Talk” which is cute, I suppose, but entirely incorrect. I’ve done some reading on blog names, and apparently the most successful blogs have clear, concise names which represent their blog’s persona entirely. The name Taggle Talk probably won’t make sense to anyone unless they read this post, but I think that’s what I like about it.

So that, my friends, is how my blog came to be named Taggle Talk.

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

8 Comments

    • Hi Belinda! I’m not sure exactly what you mean…by register do you mean subscribe to ‘Taggle Talk’? If so, click the + sign in the top left-hand corner at the very top of the page 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. hahaha classic taggle talk! and yes, i’ll vouch – you quite often say the most hilarious one liners, but at least you know where turkish delights are from!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says

    I like the name – it’s got a nice ring to it. 🙂
    Also, you’re last name – obviously you didn’t say but regardless – seems cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's up!

