Something Fishy

comments 6
Random Banter

The other day I pulled into my driveway and discovered a whole, dead fish. Actually, it was my friend who made the discovery as she got out the car to open the gate. There, in the middle of the driveway, lay a huge, smelly carp. There were ants too, but not enough to suggest that the fish had been there long. Strange, right?

I must mention that it was the gravel driveway of my family’s river shack. The fish makes more sense here than if it had been at our home in the suburbs. Regardless, there’s something fishy going on. How, for one, did the fish get there? Numerous theories have sprung to mind; did one of our neighbour’s dogs fetch it from the river and carry it up the driveway? Did the fish throw itself from the water, onto the jetty, and wriggle up the driveway before dying? Is there such a thing as a fish with legs? If so, where were its legs? Was there a flash-flood that failed to destruct our property, with the dead fish as its only evidence?

Then another thought; perhaps the fish didn’t come from the river. Perhaps someone put it there. But who would do such a thing?

We get along with our neighbours. Although, we often play our music too loud and sometimes we have extremely vocal family discussions. And there was that one time we stole their firewood and borrowed their chairs without asking, but only after they chopped down our tree when we didn’t want them to. I might also mention that they constantly fill our bins with their rubbish. As they say, an eye for an eye…

In The Godfather, Luca Brasi sends Vito Corleone, one of the most dangerous men in the eastern underworld, a dead fish wrapped in a bulletproof vest. I don’t know exactly why, but the message is loud and clear; Brasi is annoyed, and Corleone should be scared. Very scared. Has my family, without my knowledge, become involved with the mafia? Our background is Greek, not Italian, but I see how someone might confuse the two. We also love good food, and if there’s one thing I learned from The Godfather it’s that mafia men love good food too. And my father is slightly overweight, which seems to be a mafia pre-requisite. Oh boy.

There’s more. Apparently, a dead fish is symbolic of a loss of power or wealth by an individual. It can also be a sign of great disappointments that are looming in the future. Again, oh boy. As if discovering a dead fish in one’s driveway isn’t disappointment enough! Of all the things that might have miraculously appeared – a block of chocolate, a bottle of Penfolds Grange, a one hundred dollar note, a two hundred dollar note – I get a fish.

And the fishiest thing of all? In the morning, the fish, and any evidence of it ever having existed, was gone. And so the cycle of confusion continues; where did the fish go? How did it leave? Was it taken by the same person who put it there? Did it get eaten by a kangaroo? Do kangaroos even eat fish?

Was the fish even there to begin with? Was it a figment of my imagination? A dream? An hallucination? A hologram like Tupac at Coachella in 2012?

Something’s fishy…fishy indeed.

Have you ever discovered something odd in an unexpected location? I’m curious!

The Author

My name is Emily and this is a place where I write about all of the things I love (and sometimes the things I don't love). These things I love include all sorts of people: strangers, friends and family alike. And writing of course! I've never liked giving descriptions of myself, so you'll have to read my random banter in order to get to know me.

6 Comments

  1. Melissa Haywood says

    We just found a dead fish in our driveway!! Did anything happen since you found the fish in your driveway?

    Like

  2. lol we live by the sea and growing up we had a very large gold fish pond in the back garden and we where forever finding dead silver in the pond, I think the seagull where swapping them for gold ones 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says

    Oh gosh, a fish?! O.O really?
    For me….I think the weirdest was when a food bin (we have to separate all of our rubbish out into separate bins) went missing. Like, why???

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's up!

